You know…..

You know
I think the world is
A green grape
Rolling towards
A bowl of yellow custard
In a lake of
Dry water
Beneath a pink umbrella
Dotted with purple stars
Which dance
To 4/4 time
Tunes
Played by Red Indians
In dinner jackets
What do you think?
I disagree

___________

©John Steele, 1989, 2008
I wrote this when I was a member of the Bentilee Volunteers’ SCRIBE writers, in response to an exercise to write ‘something involving an argument or disagreement’. Figuring that whatever I wrote at such short notice would be rubbish I thought I might was well make it deliberately so and came up with this poem which, perservely, isn’t too bad.
It was published in “Bentilee Voices”, Spring 1989.

This entry was posted in Humour, Poems, Published Works, Self-Published and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

