I'm Holly and She's Ivy

I’m Holly and she’s Ivy
An’ we’re so full grown
That the stable lads
And the masters
Can’t leave us well alone

Whether we’re mucking out the barn
Or brushing down a horse
They greet us ‘cross the courtyard
With looks and language coarse

As Holly here has told you
We’re victims of our chests
And the butt of
Every synonum
You can think of for breast

Yes, whether we’re mucking out the barn
Or brushing down a horse
We’re greeted ‘cross the courtyard
With looks and language coarse

But we’ve found ourselves an answer
We’ll give them their desserts
The next time
They assault us
We’ll kick ’em where it hurts

So when we’re mucking out the barn
Or brushing down a horse
We’ll no more be victims of
Those looks and language coarse

___________
©John Steele, 1987, 2008
This was the other Christmas Carol parody I wrote for my writing friend’s equestrian thing. I never got to see them performed by the equestrian students (or whatever they were) but I did get to see this performed by two of the Bentilee Volunteers, in costume at that!, at the Christmas Pensioners’ Lunch Club held in a local church hall. And I have to say they did a great job of bringing it to life and it remains the only time I’ve ever seen my work performed.

This entry was posted in Humour, Poems and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

